Building Permits

Building Permits are required in Union County. Plumbing, electrical, and mechanical permits are also required. For additional information, please contact the Union County Building Department by calling 937.645.3018.

Flood Hazard

Flood hazard area permits are required if you construct within a flood hazard area. Certain building restrictions apply within flood hazard areas. To determine if your site is within a flood hazard area, check with the Union County Building Department if the lot is in the unincorporated area of the county. For sites within incorporated municipalities, please contact city or village officials.

Airport Zoning (Marysville)

The Union County Engineer administers the Airport Zoning Regulations to ensure the safety of aircraft flying in the vicinity of the Union County Airport (Marysville). The Airspace Zoning Map shows the areas or zones around the airport that are subject to these regulations. For more information, please click here.

Zoning Permits & Regulations

Zoning permits are required in most municipalities in Union County and in all townships in Union County excluding Jackson Township. If you intend to build or expand a building, a zoning permit is probably required. For more information, please contact the appropriate Zoning Administrator:

Township/Municipality Contact Phone
Allen Bill Streng 937.642.7724
Claibourne Vic Markham 740.943.3302
Darby Jim Butler 614.570.5505
Dover Tim Guider 740.816.0886
Jackson No Zoning Observed
Jerome Mark Spagnuolo 614.873.4480
Leesburg Ben Laird 937.348.2844
Liberty Chad Harriott 937.246.0264
Millcreek Phil Honsey 937.644.3449
Paris David Woodworth 614.204.3352
Taylor Joe Rausch 937.246.4895
Union Leroy Holt 937.537.0562
Washington Richard Gillenwater 937.982.9286
York Amanda Sonoda 740.972.9314
City of Marysville 937.645.7362
Village of Plain City 614.873.5812
Village of Richwood 740.943.5324
Village of Milford Center 937.349.2701
Village of Magnetic Springs 937.348.2224
Village of Unionville Center 614.873.4180

Comprehensive Land Use Plans

The following entities have comprehensive land use plans. For additional information, please contact the LUC Regional Planning Commission by calling 937.666.3431.

Union County
City of Dublin
City of Marysville
Village of Magnetic Springs
Village of Milford Center
Village of Plain City
Village of Richwood
Village of Unionville Center

Allen Township
Claibourne Township
Darby Township
Dover Township
Jackson Township
Jerome Township
Leesburg Township
Liberty Township
Millcreek Township
Paris Township
Taylor Township
Union Township
Washington Township
York Township